The Murmansk Region is situated in the North-West of European Russia and is obviously one of the strategic areas of the country in the North-Western Federal District.

The Region shares borders with the Republic of Karelia in the south-west and with Finland and Norway in the west and north-west. The Murmansk Region is one of the few Russian regions to share border with the European Union and NATO countries.

The Region is the base for Northern Fleet ensuring defence capacity of the northern frontier.

Murmansk is the biggest non-freezing Russian port situated to the north of the Arctic Circle. It is a base for cargo transport to areas of the Far North, the Arctic and far abroad. Unique capabilities of nuclear icebreaker have ensured year-round Arctic navigation.

The Region occupies an important geopolitical position in relation to regions with a developed industry connected to it with land, sea and air routes.

The location close to the border, significant exporting capabilities and available transport links establish good conditions for enhanced cooperation with other countries. The Murmansk Region is an active member of the international Barents cooperation.

The region consists of 40 municipal territories, including 12 urban okrugs (Murmansk is the regional capital), 5 municipal districts and 23 settlements, 13 of them urban and 10 of them rural.

Biggest towns, population as of 1 January 2018:

Murmansk (295.2 thousand people);

Apatity (55.6 thousand people);

Severomorsk (62 thousand people);

Monchegorsk (45.5 thousand people).

Population. As of January 1, 2018 there were 753.2 thousand people.