Governor of the Murmansk region Marina Kovtun has joined the state commission on Arctic development. Regulations on the state commission and its members were approved by Russia’s Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev. “The commission will coordinate work of federal executive authorities, executive bodies of subjects of the Russian Federation, local authorities, other government agencies and organizations in solving social and economic problems of the development of the Russian Arctic and maintenance of national security” – Marina Kovtun commented on the goal of creating of the state commission during operational meeting with regional government. Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Rogozin was appointed as a chairman of the state commission. It includes more than 70 representatives of executive authorities, senior officials of the subjects of the Russia fully or partially included in the Arctic zone, the plenipotentiary representatives of the President of Russia in some federal districts, representatives of the Security Council, the Presidential Administration, other state bodies, academic and non-governmental organizations. Governor Marina Kovtun, director of the Murmansk Marine Biological Institute Kola Scientific Center of the Russian Academy of Sciences Gennady Matishov and CEO of FSUE "Atomflot" Vyacheslav Ruksha represent Murmansk region in the state commission on Arctic development.

Posted by: 23 March 2015